A total of 79, 19,641 voters will decide the fate of 337 candidates in the third phase of the Assam Assembly election on Tuesday.

Altogether 40 constituencies covering 12 districts in Lower Assam will go to polls in the third or final phase of the elections.

There are 25 women candidates in the fray.

Of the 79,19,641 voters, who are illegible to vote in phase III, 40,11,539 are males, 39,07,963 females and 139 transgenders.

There are six seats reserved for STs and two for SCs.

The constituency having the highest number of electors in Phase-3 is Dispur with 607 polling booths having 4, 11,636 electors.

The constituency having the lowest number of electors in Phase-III is Chapaguri in Baksa with 236 polling stations having 1, 59,257 voters.

The seats are spread across 12 districts including three in the Bodoland Territorial Region (BTR).

BJP minister Himanta Biswa Sarma is contesting from Jalukbari, Chandra Mohan Patowary from Dharampur, Siddhartha Bhattacharya from Gauhati East, Asom Gana Parishad’s Phanibhushan Choudhury from Bongaigaon, BJP state chief Ranjeet Kumar Dass from Patacharkuchi, Pramila Rani Brahma from Kokrajhar-East and Kokrajhar MP Naba Sarania from Barama.

The fate of 20 sitting MLAs, including eight from the Congress, five from the BJP, three each from the AIUDF and BPF and one from AGP, will be decided in the final phase.

Singer Kalpana Patowary is contesting on an AGP ticket from Sarukhetri, while journalists Manjit Mahanta and Hridyananda Gogoi are locked in a battle in Dispur on Congress and NCP tickets respectively.

The voting will start at 7 am and will conclude at 6 pm.

Assam Assembly Election Phase-3 constituencies:

Mankachar                                                 Salmara South
Dhubri                                                        Gauripur
Golakganj                                                   Bilasipara West
Bilasipara East                                            Goalpara East
Goalpara West                                           Jaleswar
Gossaigaon                                                Kokrajhar West (ST)
Kokrajhar East (ST)                                     Sidli (ST)
Bijni                                                            Sorbhog
Bhabanipur                                                Tamulpur
Barama (ST)                                                Chapaguri (ST)
Bongaigaon                                                Abhayapuri North
Abhayapuri South (SC)                               Patacharkuchi
Barpeta                                                       Jania
Baghbar                                                      Sorukhetri
Chenga                                                       Dharmapur
Dudhnoi (ST)                                              Boko (SC)
Chaygaon                                                   Palasbari
Hajo                                                            Jalukbari
Dispur                                                         Gauhati East
Gauhati West                                              Barkhetri

Avatar photo


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: contact@nenow.in