Tea garden voters came out in large numbers to the polling booths of upper Assam’s Dibrugarh district to exercise their franchise during the first phase of the Assam Assembly election 2021.

“From 6 am, we were standing and finally, we cast our votes. We cast out votes at Chalkhowa polling station. Those, who will form the next government in Assam, should take care of us,” said tea garden worker, Panchima Boraik.

In every election, the tribe people emerge as the deciding factor in many of the Assembly seats in upper Assam.

Renuka Urang, a first-time voter, expressed her happiness after casting her life’s first vote in the election at Chalkhowa primary school polling station.

Also read: Assam Assembly Election 2021: Digboi constituency records 74% voter turnout

“I am happy because for the first time I cast my vote. I want the development of our tea tribe people,” Urang said.

Overall, the polling remained peaceful in Dibrugarh and no untoward incident has been reported so far.

The overall polling percentage of 7 Legislative Assembly Constituencies under Dibrugarh district till 6 pm was 75.88%.

The polling percentage of the Assembly constituencies under the district were Moran – 75%, Dibrugarh – 74.67%, Lahoal – 77%, Duliajan – 77%, Tingkhong – 74%, Naharkatia – 77% and Chabua recorded 76.5% till the filing of the report.

Also read: Assam Assembly Election 2021: Election Commission seizes Rs. 97.31 crore till March 27

Assam chief minister Sarbananda Sonowal cast his vote in 161 No polling booth at Sahityarathi Lakhminath Brzbaruah Bhawan in Dibrugarh.

After that, he left for Majuli, which is represented by him.

Talking to media persons, chief minister Sonowal said, “Voters have come out in large numbers to cast their votes. We are sure that we will get 100 plus seats and form the next government.”

There are total 10,70,188 electorates in 7 Assembly constituencies in the Dibrugarh district, out of which 531,513 are male, 538,672 female and 3 transgender.

There are 1,514 polling stations in the district including 1,286 original polling stations and 228 auxiliary polling stations in 867 locations.

Five polling stations were marked as vulnerable and 7 as critical.

As many as 7,268 polling personnel were deployed in the district including 1,817 presiding officers and equal numbers of 1st, 2nd and 3rd polling officers.

Avik Chakraborty

Avik Chakraborty is Northeast Now Correspondent in Dibrugarh. He can be reached at: babs8oct@gmail.com