Digboi Assembly constituency in Tinsukia district on Saturday recorded 74% voter turnout in the first phase of the Assam Assembly election 2021.

The voters on Saturday locked the fate of the candidates in the EVMs.

The candidates, who are fighting for the Digboi Assembly seat In the 2021 Assam Assembly election battle, are BJP’s Suren Phukon, Congress’ Sibnath Chetia and Assam Jatiya Parishad’s Prahlad Nayak.

The polling was conducted amid tight security and passed off peacefully unlike the 2016 Assembly election when the constituency witnessed a few incidents of poll-related violence.

Few complaints of technical glitches in Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) were reported in few polling stations which were resolved later.

Also read: Assam Assembly election 2021 schedule constituency-wise

“74% polling has been recorded till 7.29 pm,” an election officer told Northeast Now.

Of the total 1,40,132 including 69,298 male, 70,825 female and 9 transgenders, only 99,143 voters exercised their franchise this year, which is lesser than that of the 2016 Assembly election.

In the 2016 Assembly election, the Digboi constituency recorded 80.89% voter turnout.

Also read: Assam Assembly election: 72.14% voter turnout in first phase

The polling was conducted in 205 polling stations including 154 main polling stations while 51 was the auxiliary.

A total of 25 micro observers and 22 videographers were pressed to ensure transparent, smooth and incidence-free electoral affairs during the poll.

The casting trend was as such that till 1 pm, it was 45% while the percentage shot up to 53% by 3 pm while it touched 70.67% by late 5 pm.

The voter turnout later reached 74%, according to official sources.

Electorates including male, female and young voters in particular exhibited unparalleled enthusiasm in almost all the polling stations particularly in rural pockets and took active participation in delivering their right to franchise.

Differently-abled voters and senior citizens were also seen displaying their zeal to vote for their chosen candidate.

The entire poll process concluded peacefully and smoothly without any untoward incidence within the constituency.

The result of the three-phased Assam Assembly election 2021 will be declared on May 2.

Laxman Sharma

Laxman Sharma is Northeast Now Correspondent in Digboi. He can be reached at: laxmansharma.press@gmail.com