The United States has designated Pakistan and China as countries of particular concern for violation of religious freedom.

This was stated by US Secretary of State – Mike Pompeo.

Pakistan and China along with 8 other countries – Myanmar, Eritrea, Iran, Nigeria, North Korea, Saudi Arabia, Tajikistan and Turkmenistan have been placed in a list for engaging in egregious violations of religious freedom

The United States State Department also placed Comoros, Cuba, Nicaragua and Russia on a Special Watch List (SWL).

Also read: CAA: NESO to observe December 11 as ‘Black Day’ across Northeast

“Religious freedom is an unalienable right, and the bedrock upon which free societies are built and flourish. Today, the United States — a nation founded by those fleeing religious persecution, as the recent Commission on Unalienable Rights report noted — once again took action to defend those who simply want to exercise this essential freedom,” Pompeo said.

The U.S. also designated al-Shabaab, al-Qaida, Boko Haram, Hayat Tahrir al-Sham, the Houthis, ISIS, ISIS-Greater Sahara, ISIS-West Africa, Jamaat Nasr al-Islam wal Muslimin and the Taliban as ‘Entities of Particular Concern’


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: