IPL 2021 winners Chennai Super Kings
Image credit - Twitter@IPL

The Chennai Super Kings, led by former Team India captain MS Dhoni, won IPL 2021 final by defeating Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) in Dubai on Friday.

Chennai Super Kings clinched a 27-run win against Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR).

With this victory, Chennai Super Kings won the IPL title for the fourth time.

The Chennai Super Kings players celebrated their win as BCCI president Sourav Ganguly and Board secretary Jay Shah handed over the Indian Premier League (IPL) winners’ trophy to skipper MS Dhoni.

Also read: MS Dhoni takes Chennai Super Kings to 9th IPL final

Dhoni soon handed over the trophy to his teammates of Chennai Super Kings as the entire contingent erupted in jubilation.

The CSK players were also joined by their children in the trophy celebration.

Chennai Super Kings now stand second only to Mumbai Indians (MI) in the list of winners of most IPLs.

Also read: After Bangladesh PM’s warning, mob vandalises ISKCON temple; 1 devotee killed

According to a match report, CSK looked in total control after the team was asked to bat first at the Dubai International Stadium.

CSK openers Faf fu Plessis and Ruturaj Gaikwad gave the MS Dhoni-led team a perfect platform to build upon as both in-form players took matters at their hands in the initial overs.

Dhoni’s team went along smoothly, posting a challenging 192/3 in 20 overs.

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) had a solid opening partnership but despite having wickets at their disposal, they failed to go full throttle in the middle and final overs as CSK bowlers jammed the run scoring with some intelligent bowling.

KKR could score 165/9 in reply as they lost their first IPL final in three appearances.

Avatar photo


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: contact@nenow.in