Historic series win in Australia is now a thing of the past. India now gears up to host England from February 5.

BCCI’s newly constituted All-India Senior Selection Committee headed by former India cricketer Chetan Sharma on Tuesday announced the squad for the first two Test matches to be played at Chennai against England.

Regular team India captain Virat Kohli, who returned back to India on a paternity leave after the Adelaide Test, is back in the side and will lead the team.

The selectors have announced an 18-member squad for the first two Test matches against the three lions.

India Squad: 

Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma, Mayank Agarwal, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (Vice-captain), KL Rahul, Hardik Pandya, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), R Ashwin, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Ishant Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, Md. Siraj, Shardul Thakur.


Ajinkya Rahane, Cheteshwar Pujara, KL Rahul, Mayank Agarwal, Rishabh Pant (WK), Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli (C) & Wriddhiman Saha (WK)


Axar Patel, Hardik Pandya, Ravichandran Ashwin & Washington Sundar


Ishant Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Siraj & Shardul Thakur

Also read: India wins Gabba Test, retains Border-Gavaskar Trophy

The Committee also picked five net bowlers and five players as standbys.

Net Bowlers: Ankit Rajpoot, Avesh Khan, Sandeep Warrier, Krishnappa Gowtham, Saurabh Kumar

Standby players: K S Bharat, Abhimanyu Easwaran, Shahbaz Nadeem, Rahul Chahar, Priyank Panchal

Test Series Schedule: 

First Test: Chennai (Feb 5-9)

Second Test: Chennai (Feb 13-17)

Third Test: Ahmedabad (Feb 24-28)

Fourth Test: Ahmedabad (Mar 4-8)

Avatar photo


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: contact@nenow.in