A never seen before zeal was on display at the Gabba in Brisbane, as Team India defied all odds to win the 4th Test Match against Australia to retain the coveted Border-Gavaskar Trophy.

India successful chased down the 328-run target losing 7 wickets, thanks to a gritty batting performance by Cheteshwar Pujara (56 off 211 balls), a breezy 91 off 146 balls by Shubman Gill, an attacking knock by Rishab Pant (89 no off 138 balls) and a late onslaught by Washington Sundar (22 off 29 balls).

Battered by injuries, a ‘starless’ Team India ended Australia’s 32-year-old unbeaten run at the ‘Fortress Gabba’ and seal the series 2-1.

Australia had remained unbeaten at the Gabba since 1988. But no more.


This series win down under is historic as several key players of Team India were not available due to various reasons throughout the series.

This series win comes without the services of Virat Kohli, Mohammed Shami, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin and Jasprit Bumrah at various points.

The series win was a remarkable achievement considering India were bowled out for their lowest Test score of 36 to lose the first Test in Adelaide, before bouncing back to win the second in Melbourne.

The visitors, ravaged by injuries and Captain Virat Kohli’s absence for paternity leave, then batted throughout the final day to draw the third Test in Sydney.

“It really means a lot to us. I don’t know how to describe this victory but I’m really proud of all the boys,” said stand-in skipper Ajinkya Rahane.


Meanwhile, praises for Team India’s emphatic win continues to pour in. Leading the pack is President Ram Nath Kovind.

President Ram Nath Kovind took to Twitter to congratulate Team India on this historic win.

President Kovind said: “A historic cricketing triumph scripted in Australia! Congratulations to India’s talented young cricket team for winning the hard-fought test series. The team showed exceptional skills and resilience. The nation is proud of their achievement.”

Prime Minister Narendra Modi said, “We are all overjoyed at the success of the Indian Cricket Team in Australia. Their remarkable energy and passion was visible throughout. So was their stellar intent, remarkable grit and determination. Congratulations to the team! Best wishes for your future endeavours.”

BCCI President Saurav Ganguly said, “Just a remarkable win…To go to Australia and win a test series in this way ..will be remembered in the history of indian cricket forever ..Bcci announces a 5 cr bonus for the team ..The value of this win is beyond any number ..well done to every member of the touring party..”

Virat Kohli said: “WHAT A WIN!!! Yessssss. To everyone who doubted us after Adelaide, stand up and take notice. Exemplary performance but the grit and determination was the standout for us the whole way. Well done to all the boys and the management. Enjoy this historic feat lads. Cheers.”

England pacer Stuart Broad said: “Test cricket’s heart is beating strongly! That was an extraordinary win @BCCI & a fantastic series to watch. Aussies not lost at The Gabba since 1988. Wow”

Yuvraj Singh tweeted: “This win is going in history books! Young team beating a experienced Australian side I don’t think I was so proud while I was playing for india Flag of India #Unbelievable stuff #test cricket at it’s best congratulations boys.”

Union Health Minister Dr Harsh Vardhan said, “History has been made at the Gabba! A spectacular series win for #TeamIndia! What a remarkable game of test-cricket, nerve-wracking till the end! A huge shout out to our young lads, who stepped up to the occasion to retain the Border-Gavaskar Trophy!”

Sachin Tendulkar said: “For all of us in Flag of India & across the world, if you ever score 36 or lesser in life, remember: it isn’t end of the world. The spring stretches backward only to propel you forward. And once you succeed, don’t forget to celebrate with those who stood by you when the world wrote you off.”

Avatar photo


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: contact@nenow.in