Tripura royal scion and chairman of TIPRA (The Indigenous Progressive Regional Alliance) Pradyot Deb Barman will contest the upcoming Tripura Tribal Areas Autonomous District Council (TTAADC) elections from the Takarjala-Jampuijala constituency. 

Pradyot Deb Barman filed his nomination from the Takarjala-Jampuijala constituency before the Returning Officer on Wednesday. 

IPFT chief and Tripura minister NC Debbarma is the local MLA from Takarjala Assembly constituency. 

Pradyot Deb Barman said: “I chose to fight from Takarjala-Jampuijala because all communities of TIPRASA people including Tripuri, Reang, Kolai, Jamatia and others live here.” 

“I want to lead from the front,” added Pradyot Deb Barman. 

Also read: Assam: AIUDF chief Badruddin Ajmal to sue NGO for doctored video

IPFT’s Brajlal Debbarma will up against Pradyot Deb Barman in Takarjala-Jampuijala. 

Following the ‘betrayal’ by IPFT, TIPRA and Indigenous Nationalist Party of Twipra (INPT) will be contesting the TTAADC elections in alliance. 

While, TIPRA will contest in 23 seats, INPT will contest in 5 seats. 

Elections to the TTAADC will be held on April 4. 

Also read: BJP-led Tripura Government outsources departmental jobs to private companies

Avatar photo


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: