Counting for over 200 civic bodies seats in Tripura is underway amid tight security arrangements. 

According to the Tripura state election commission, the BJP is leading in Ambassa, Jirania, Teliamura and Sabroom. 

A three-tier security arrangement has been put in place keeping in view the violence that took place during the voting in Tripura on Thursday. 

Conting of votes is underway in over 200 seats in the Agartala Municipal Corporation (AMC) and other civic bodies in Tripura. 

The civic polls were held for 222 seats out of a total of 334 seats on November 25 (Thursday).  

The remaining 112 seats were won by the ruling BJP uncontested. 

Polling recorded a voter turnout of 81.54 per cent. 

Also read: Man kills 5 including minor daughters, brother, police officer in Tripura

Counting of votes for elections to six nagar panchayats, seven municipal councils and Agartala Municipal Corporation is underway at 13 counting centres across the state.  

01:08 (IST)28 NOV 2021: BJP secures majority in AMC

BJP wins 29 seats out of 51 in AMC

01:05 (IST)28 NOV 2021: BJP sweeps Tripura civic elections

BJP wins 22 seats out of 51 in AMC.

BJP wins 15 seats in Khowai Municipal Council.

BJP wins 13 seats in Melaghar Municipal Council.

BJP wins 13 seats in Sonamura Nagar Panchayat.

01:00 (IST)28 NOV 2021: BJP sweeps AMC elections

BJP wins 22 AMC seats

11:52 (IST)28 NOV 2021:

TMC candidate Suman Paul wins from ward 13 of Ambassa Municipal Corporation.

TIPRA candidate Sebi Kaloi wins from ward number 3 of Ambassa Municipal Corporation

11:50 (IST)28 NOV 2021: BJP wins big

AMC: BJP – 12

Ambassa: BJP – 12, TMC – 1, TIPRA – 1, CPIM – 1

10:55 (IST)28 NOV 2021: BJP leads in Ambassa

BJP: 12, TMC – 1

10:50 (IST)28 NOV 2021: BJP wins 10 AMC seats thus far

BJP -10

10:10 (IST)28 NOV 2021: BJP five seats thus far in AMC

BJP’s Ratna Datta, Abhishek Datta, Mitra Majumder,  Neetu Dey and Tushar Kanti win.

09:39 (IST)28 NOV 2021: BJP leading in three seats in Agartala Municipal Corporation

AMC tally (total 51 seats) – BJP – 3; Opposition – 0

09:05 (IST)28 NOV 2021: BJP leading in 4 civic bodies

BJP leading in Ambassa, Jirania, Teliamura and Sabroom

Avatar photo


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: