Tripura chief minister Manik Saha has won the by-elections from the Town Bardowali Assembly constituency. 

Tripura CM Manik Saha won the by-elections by securing a total of 17,181 votes. 

It was the first ever direct elections that the Tripura chief minister had contested. 

Tripura chief minister Manik Saha, a BJP candidate, defeated his nearest rival Ashish Saha of the Congress party to win from the Town Bardowali assembly seat. 

Also read: Tripura: IPFT crisis deepens, influential youth leaders to merge with TIPRA

The by-polls to four assembly constituencies in Tripura were held on June 23. 

The assembly constituencies in Tripura that went to by-elections were: Agartala, Town Bordowali, Surma and Jubarajnagar. 


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: