In a massive setback to the BJP-IPFT government in Tripura, IPFT MLA from Simna constituency – Brishaketu Debbarma will formally join the Pradyot Debbarman led TIPRA Motha on Thursday.

Earlier on July 2, TIPRA (The Indigenous Progressive Regional Alliance) chairman – Pradyot Debbarman had met Brishaketu Debbarma and held discussion with him.

Brishaketu Debbarma had tendered his resignation as an MLA before the Speaker of the Tripura Legislative Assembly on June 29.

In his resignation letter, Brishaketu Debbarma had cited ‘personal reasons’ for his decision of stepping down as an MLA.

Also read: West Tripura MP Pratima Bhoumik sworn in as Union minister of state

However, Tripura Assembly Speaker Rebati Mohan Das had rejected the resignation of the Indigenous People’s Front of Tripura (IPFT) MLA, Brishaketu Debbarma on procedural grounds.

Brishaketu Debbarma is a popular young tribal leader, who was elected to the Tripura Assembly on IPFT ticket in the 2018 States elections.

(This is a breaking story)

Avatar photo


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: