The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has expelled a total of 11 party leaders for contesting the ensuing 30-member Tripura Tribal Areas Autonomous District Council (TTAADC) election as Independent candidates.

“The BJP leaders have been expelled for a period of six years for tarnishing the party’s image,” Tripura BJP party spokesperson Subrata Chakraborty said on Thursday.

Subrata Chakraborty admitted that while some of the party leaders have stood as independent candidates, the others have become proponents of independent candidates for the upcoming ADC election in Tripura.

While addressing a press conference at the BJP state office in Agartala on Thursday, Chakraborty said, “A few of the leaders are spreading propaganda against the party. So, action has been taken against them.”

After the announcement of the list of candidates for the Tripura ADC elections, there has been a revolt against the BJP leadership.

The Tripura BJP leaders earlier announced that they would contest the Tripura ADC election alone, but later the party formed a pre-poll alliance with the Indigenous Peoples Front of Tripura (IPFT) and left more seats to the IPFT.

In many parts of Tripura, the BJP leaders and grassroots party workers refused to accept the alliance with the IPFT and some of them have stood as independent candidates.

This time, the BJP leadership is trying to suppress the rebellion by expelling the leaders who have revolted against the party.

Of the 11 people, who have been expelled from the party for six years, two are Mandal presidents and one is the party’s district vice-president.

The rest are BJP Janajati Morcha leaders and party’s Mandal level leaders.

Subrata Chakraborty said, “BJP is a disciplined party” and they will not tolerate any kind of activities that will tarnish the party image.


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: