PS Tamang
A victorious P S Golay. Image: Northeast Now

The alliance of Sikkim Krantikari Morcha (SKM) and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has won all three seats in the by-polls in Sikkim.

SKM president and the chief minister Prem Singh Golay recorded a landslide victory from Poklok-Kamrang constituency in South district.

Similarly, BJP candidates, Sonam Tshering Venchungpa from Martam-Rumtek constituency and Yong Tshering Lepcha from Gangtok constituency in East district have also registered the thumping victories.

Golay emerged as winner with a total of 10811 votes by leaving Sikkim Democratic Front (SDF) candidate Moses Rai on second position with 1858 votes and Sikkim Republican Party candidate Yadhu Kumar Rai got 125 votes.

Likewise, Sonam Tshering Venchungpa of BJP got 8204 votes from Martam-Rumtek constituency, while Nuk Tshering Bhutia of SDF secured 2054 votes.

Nima Lepcha of Hamro Sikkim Party got 1235 votes, Mingma Tshering Sherpa of Sikkim Republican Party got 173 votes and independent candidates, Mechung Bhutia got 431 votes and Passang Gyali Sherpa got 280 votes.

In Gangtok constituency, Yong Tshering Lepcha emerged victorious with 2508 votes by leaving Sikkim National People’s Party candidate, Delay Namgyal Barfungpa on second position with 1498 votes.

Likewise, SDF candidate, Rinzing Ongmu Bhutia secured 874 votes, Hamro Sikkim Party working president, Bhaichung Bhutia got 579 votes, independent candidate, Karma Yenten Chankapa got 455 votes and SRP candidate, Song Tshering Lepcha got 119 votes.

Sagar Chhetri is Northeast Now Correspondent in Gangtok. He can be reached at:

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.