Security across the poll-bound state of Tripura has been tightened ahead of ensuing Assembly elections to thwart any subversive activities. Huge numbers of central forces have been deployed in several parts across the State after the arrival of twenty-five companies of central paramilitary forces and state armed forces for poll duty.

A large contingent of paramilitary forces is also deployed at Dharmanagar to keep tab on any unlawful activities ahead of the election.

A team of women paramilitary force is also put into action to control any untoward incident.

A total 300 companies of central forces will be deployed in the State during the election period to avoid any disturbance in the State.

Troops of Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF), Border Security Force (BSF), Indo-Tibetan Border Police and other state armed forces have already arrived so far.

The final electoral rolls of Tripura were published on January 5 last with enrolment of 25,69,216 voters.

For the first time, the third gender option was included in the final rolls and 11 people had registered their names under the category this time.

Of the remaining 25,69,205 voters, 13,03,420 are males and 12,65,785 females.

The final rolls were published after looking into all claims and objections filed from different quarters of Tripura.

Around 34,845 names were deleted from the electoral rolls due to various reasons, including death and shifting of places. Over 47,800 first time voters under the age group of 18-19 years have included their names in the rolls this time.

The State is expected to utilize the services of 4,800 VVPATs and nearly 4,600 EVM machines in the upcoming elections. Among these, around five per cent of the machines would be set aside for training and awareness purposes, while will be kept on standby.

Tripura, the country’s second Left-ruled state after Kerala, will go to polls in February or March next to elect its new State Assembly.

Two other north-eastern states – Meghalaya and Nagaland – will have elections during the same period. The Assemblies in Meghalaya, Tripura and Nagaland have 60 seats each.

The five-year terms of the Meghalaya, Nagaland and Tripura Assemblies would expire on March 6, 13 and 14, respectively.

Avatar photo


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at:

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.