Representational image

Kuwait’s civil aviation authority stated on Tuesday that passengers from 10 nations, including India and Bangladesh, must produce certificates issued by the Kuwaiti embassy in their country saying they are coronavirus free.

This has been done to control the rapid spread of the disease in that country.

Also read: Coronavirus: Symptoms and precautions

In a statement on Twitter, the aviation authority warned that passengers who do not provide the certificates will not be allowed into Kuwait.

This will come into force from March 8 next.

Kuwait has the largest number of infections with 56 persons in the Middle East outside Iran.

The Gulf nation did not report any new cases on Tuesday.

Of late, Kuwaiti authorities have instituted a slew of measures aimed at containing the spread of the virus, including quarantines and banning visits to prisons for two weeks.

Avatar photo


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: