Fate of the seven ‘rebel’ Naga People’s Front (NPF) MLAs will be decided by the Gauhati High Court on February 8.

The Kohima bench of the Gauhati High Court will hear the Interlocutory Application (IA) filed by the NPF on February 8.

The IA filed by the NPF seeks intervention of the Court by restraining the seven suspended ‘rebel’ MLAs from entering the Nagaland Legislative Assembly during the forthcoming Assembly session on February 12.

The NPF had approached the Gauhati High Court last year challenging the order passed by Speaker Sharingain Longkumer, dismissing the disqualification petition against the seven ‘rebel’ MLAs.

The NPF had filed a petition with the Speaker on April 2019 against the seven ‘dissident’ MLAs.

The 7 ‘rebel’ MLAs are: EE Pangteang, Kejong Chang, CL John, Eshak Konyak, BS Nganlang, Toyang Chang and N Thongwang Konyak.

Also read: Assam Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma appeals ULFA-I to release abducted oil company employees

Notably, Speaker Sharingain Longkumer had dismissed their disqualification petition on July 14, 2020.

“We have filed an Interlocutory Application asking the honourable court for restraining the seven MLAs from entering/taking part in the Assembly. The reason behind is that the matter is delayed for a long time,” said Advocate Siddharth Borgohain, who is representing the NPF.

Avatar photo


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: contact@nenow.in