Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) candidate H Chuba Chang has been declared elected unopposed to the Nagaland Assembly in the bypoll to the 51 Noksen Legislative Assembly constituency.

Chang was declared uncontested by the returning officer of the 51 Noksen Assembly constituency on Saturday.

H Chuba Chang was the consensus candidate of the Progressive Democratic Alliance (PDA) led by Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP).

He was the only candidate to file nomination papers for the bypoll scheduled to be held on April 17, 2021.

Chang was declared elected uncontested on April 3, the last date for withdrawal of candidature.

He was a former Congress MLA till 2008.

Also read: Nagaland: Bypoll to Noksen Assembly seat on April 17

The opposition Nagaland People’s Front (NPF) did not field party candidate for the bypoll to 51 Noksen Assembly constituency.

The bypoll was necessitated to fill the vacancy caused after the demise of CM Chang, then sitting MLA, said deputy chief electoral officer of Nagaland, Awa Lorin, in a letter to the Election Commission of India.

CM Chang who was serving as the minister for environment, forest & climate change and justice & law, died on October 12, 2020.

Nagaland bypoll

After the party’s win in the Noksen bypoll, the strength of the ruling NDPP in the 60-member Nagaland Legislative Assembly, has increased to 21.

The BJP, which is a partner of the PDA, has 12 MLAs in Nagaland.

The PDA government has support of two Independent candidates.

The opposition Nagaland People’s Front NPF has 25 MLAs.

NDPP has congratulated Chang for being elected to the Nagaland Assembly.

“Congratulations to PDA Consensus Candidate Mr. H. Chuba Chang for being elected for the 5th time from Noksen a/c. We thank our alliance partners and all well wishers for the support and wish him a successful tenure,” NDPP tweeted.

Avatar photo


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: