Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM) leader – Lalduhoma was on Monday sworn in as an MLA of the Mizoram Assembly.

Assembly speaker Lalrinliana Sailo administered the oath of office and secrecy to Lalduhoma during a function held at the Assembly annexe building in Aizawl on Tuesday.

The swearing-in function was held under strict adherence to COVID-19 protocols.

Home minister Lalchamliana, school education minister Lalchhandama Ralte, Congress legislature party leader Zodintluanga Ralte and some MLAs from Mizo National Front (MNF), Congress, BJP and also three independent MLAs have attended the function.

Also read: 7-day lockdown in Nagaland announced

In the present 40-member Assembly, the ruling MNF has 27 members, Congress- 5, and the BJP and ZPM have one member each, According to Lalrinliana Sailo.

Besides, there are 6 independent MLAs, he said.

Lalduhoma, who won the Serchhip assembly seat in the last assembly polls held in November 2018, was disqualified by the speaker under anti-defection law in November 2020.

This necessitated bypoll to the Serchhip seat on April 17 this year.

Also read: New Assam CM Himanta Biswa Sarma as recalled by his Cotton College teacher

At least 6 candidates, including the ruling MNF nominee Vanlalzawma had contested the bypoll.

Lalduhoma emerged victorious in the bypoll by defeating his nearest opponent Vanlalzawma by a margin of 3,310 votes.

He secured 8,269 out of the total 16, 595 votes polled.

Lalduhoma became the first legislator of ZPM after the party was formed in 2017 and obtained party registration from the Election Commission of India (ECI) in July, 2019.


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: contact@nenow.in