A total of six BJP members of the Chakma Autonomous District Council (CADC) have tendered their resignation and joined the ruling Mizo National Front (MNF).

This comes as a major setback for the saffron party as six out of eight BJP members of CADC have joined the MNF on March 27.

These members are Buddhalila Chakma, Ajoy Kumar Chakma, Onish Moy Chakma, Anil Kanti Chakma, Hiranand Tongchangya and Sanjeev Chakma.

On the other hand, the incumbent CADC chief executive Rasik Mohan Chakma voluntarily resigned from his position because of the major political developments in the council.

Durjya Dhan Chakma was unanimously chosen as the leader of the MNF legislature party under who the new executive committee will be formed.

Also read: Alert issued across Northeast as Assam, Meghalaya, Tripura and Mizoram likely to be lashed by heavy rains

The six members were formally inducted into the ruling party by Mizoram sports minister Pu Robert Romawia Royte during a ceremony at MNF’s party office at Kamalanagar.

The minister was on a two-day visit to the Council’s headquarters to take stock of the recent political developments taking place in CADC.

After joining the MNF, Buddhalila Chakma said, “I resigned from the BJP as the central leadership had failed to fulfill the promises it had made to the people of CADC.’

“Majority of people in Mizoram have aversion to BJP’s ideology which makes its inroad into the state a distant dream,” he said.

Chakma also said that BJP had its hold only in CDAC in Mizoram and the central leadership did not pay any heed to the problems of the BJP workers at the grassroot level.

Avatar photo


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: contact@nenow.in