Meghalaya High Court
Meghalaya High Court.

The Supreme Court Collegium has approved the proposal for elevation of judicial officer Wanlura Diengdoh as the judge of Meghalaya High Court.

Sources said the Supreme Court Collegium in its meeting held on October 15, after taking into consideration the material on record, has approved the proposal to elevate Diengdoh as judge of the Meghalaya High Court.

At present, the Meghalaya High Court has two judges which comprised Chief Justice Ajay Kumar Mittal and Justice HS Thangkhiew.

Also read: HS Thangkhiew appointed as new Meghalaya High Court Judge

Justice Sanjay Yadav is presently the Acting Chief Justice of the Madhya Pradesh High Court.

In a statement, the modification of the Collegium’s earlier resolutions, dated August 28, was acknowledged including a resolution proposing a swap between the then Madras High Court Chief Justice VK Tahilramani and Meghalaya High Court Chief Justice AK Mittal.

It may be mentioned that Meghalaya High Court Chief Justice AK Mittal, who was earlier proposed to head the Madras High Court, has been proposed to be transferred to the Madhya Pradesh High Court as its next Chief Justice.

It has been reported that the Collegium has now recommended that Chief Justice AP Sahi be transferred instead to the Madras High Court as its next Chief Justice.

After the resignation of Chief Justice Tahilramani in protest against her transfer to the Meghalaya High Court, the Madras High Court has been functioning with Justice Vineet Kothari as its Acting Chief Justice.

Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at:

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.