BJP and Congress are all set to sit in the opposition in the Garo Hills Autonomous District Council (GHADC) to take on the new executive committee, to be led by the NPP.

The BJP, which has two members in the GHADC, did not join the National People’s Party (NPP) that has already staked claim before the Meghalaya Governor to form the new executive committee with 15 members.

Interestingly, the BJP also stated that according to an order of the Meghalaya High Court, an executive committee should be formed with 17 members, and not 15 members and the party would raise objection and apprise the Governor, based on the court order.

Also read: Meghalaya: NPP-led coalition stakes claim to form Garo Hills Autonomous District Council

“We are not in a hurry to be part of the new executive committee,” Bernard Marak told reporters at the state BJP office in Shillong on Saturday.

Also read: Meghalaya: BJP to decide formation of new Executive Committee in GHADC on Friday

Marak proposed that he should be the chief executive member (CEM) of the new executive committee (EC) in GHADC.

He said the people wanted him to be the CEM to clean the GHADC, which was allegedly involved in corruption.

When asked if the NPP has approached the BJP for the formation of the new executive committee, Marak said anyone, who wanted him to join the EC, he should be made the CEM.

Also read: Meghalaya: Final results of GHADC elections out, Congress emerges single-largest party

When asked why the BJP, which is part of the NPP-led MDA government in the state, did not work together now in the GHADC, state BJP president Ernest Mawrie said the party has not decided so far and is waiting for the party high command to take a call.

Mawrie, however, said the ruling of the High Court has clearly stated that the executive committee should be formed with 17 members.

“We will file an objection based on the ruling of the Court,” he said.

The GHADC at present, has 29 members, and the halfway mark is 15 members.

One member will be nominated by the Governor to make it the 30-member House.

The just-concluded elections to the GHADC held on April 12, and the results were declared on April 15, saw a fractured verdict with the Congress winning 12 seats, NPP got 11 seats, BJP won two seats and the Garo National Council (GNC) got only one seat, and three Independents.

The NPP, however, staked claim to form the new EC with 15 members which include its 11 members, three Independents and one GNC member.

The Congress which has 12 members, and two BJP members, will sit in the opposition.

Avatar photo


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: