Shillong Lajong FC team. Image credit -

Shillong Lajong FC won the Shillong Premier League Championship 2019 on Tuesday after defeating Ryntih Sports Club 4-0 at the JN Stadium, Shillong.

Lajong are the champions of Shillong thereby ending the season at the top of the Shillong Premier League table with 27 points from 12 games.

They won a total of 8 matches, drew 3 and lost 1 match.

Lajong’s first goal was scored by Amon Lepcha in the 13th minute from close range after a corner kick routine.

The Lajong youngsters followed the touchline instructions from their Spanish Coach, Jose Carlos and continued to display attacking football and were hungry for more goals.

Their efforts paid off in the 38th minute when Freestar Kharbyngar picked the ball put into the box by Mahesh Singh and put it past the oncoming goalkeeper to double the lead.

Ryntih had a couple of opportunities but Lajong’s goalkeeper Neithovilie Chalieu had an excellent performance denying all the efforts of the attackers.

Lajong were very quick to score their third goal at the beginning of the second half.

Donbok sprinted from left and took a shot which rebounded off the goalkeeper’s gloves kindly to Samuel Lyngdoh Kynshi who converted comfortably from a close range in the 46th minute.

Ryntih Sports Club, who are making their SPL debut this season, worked very hard to get back in the match but were not able to convert their chances into goals.

As the game approached full time, Shillong Lajong were awarded a penalty after a handball was spotted inside the box.

Mahesh Singh stepped up to take the penalty in the 90th minute.

The match ended 4-0 in favour of Lajong and the team declared winners of the SPL 2019 Championship.

Avatar photo


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: