At least two senior leaders from the opposition parties in Manipur have joined the BJP ahead of the Assembly elections in the state. 

Lone TMC MLA from Manipur – Tongbram Robindro and former Congress MLA – Yengkhom Surchandra Singh have joined the BJP 

Tongbram Robindro and Yengkhom Surchandra Singh formally joined the saffron party in Imphal on Thursday. 

Robindro won the 2017 Manipur Assembly elections from Thanga constituency. 

Also read: Indian Army contacts China’s PLA, seeks information on ‘abducted’ Arunachal boy

Top BJP leaders from the Northeast were present in the joining ceremony. 

Union minister and Tripura Lok Sabha MP – Pratima Bhoumik, Assam minister – Ashok Singhal and Manipur BJP president A Sharda Devi were present in the joining ceremony. 

Avatar photo


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: