With the election commission of India (ECI) announcing dates for the two-phased Manipur Assembly elections, political parties in the state have started gearing up for the upcoming polls. 

Manipur will vote in two phases on February 27 and March 3. 

Parties in the state have welcomed the ECI’s announcement for poll dates. 

The Manipur Congress has asked people, party workers and leaders mulling to contest in the upcoming Assembly elections to collect forms from the party offices. 

Also read: Ahead of budget session, over 400 Parliament staff test COVID positive

Meanwhile, the BJP has also directed all its units in the state to suspend all of its meetings and rallies as directed by the ECI. 

The term of current Manipur Legislative Assembly will expire on March 19 and elections will be held for 60 constituencies (40 Gen ACs, 1 SC and 19 ST ACs) in two phases. 

Phase 1 of polling: February 27 

35 assembly constituencies across five Manipur districts of Imphal East, Imphal West, Churachandpur, Bishnupur and Kangpokpi will go to polls. 

Also read: ‘Bulli Bai’ app accused Neeraj Bishnoi from Assam threatens Delhi police with suicide

Phase 2 of polling: March 3 

25 constituencies across six districts of Ukhrul, Tamenglong, Senapati, Jiribam, Thoubal and Chandel will go to polls. 

Meanwhile, with the ECI announcing dates for elections, model code of conduct (MCC) has come into effect in Manipur. 

Avatar photo


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: contact@nenow.in