Manipur cyclist Khariksing Adonis Tangpu added another gold to his name in the 18th MTB (Mountain Terrain Bike) National Championship at Alandi-Pune on Saturday.

Overall, hosts Maharashtra dominated the championship by bagging two first spots.

On the second day of the 18th MTB National Championship, organised by the Cycling Association of Maharashtra under the aegis of Cycling Federation of India, saw the highly technical and experienced Adonis add the Elite Men Cross Country Olympic title to his name to take his individual tally to two gold medals.

Adonis won the Elite Men Individual Time Trial (ITT) on the opening day of the championship.

Having had a full run of the trail and good know-how of the track, Adonis covered the 30 km distance (6 laps) in 1 hour 12 minute 44.910.

Also read: Manipur rights panel set to begin probe into activist Abonmei’s death

Adonis’ timing on Saturday was a vast improvement from the 1 hour 26 minutes 48.417s he had logged to win the ITT, said a press statement.

Following Adonis past the finish line in the second spot was Riyant Rai from West Bengal clocking 1:14:03.035s and Ladakh’s Sonam Norboo 1:14:28.200s.

Maharashtra, meanwhile, had a fruitful day out with Siddhesh Ghorpade and Siddhi Shirke winning their respective events.

Siddhesh proved to be the hero of the day winning an MTB gold on debut. Hailing from Kolhapur, Siddhesh, a road racer, bagged the Youth Boys Cross Country Olympic.

Having begun practicing a month back, Siddhesh an eight-grade student of Jyotirling Vidyamandir, Vadanage-Nigave, completed the 2-lap 10 kilometer run in 25 minutes 09.917s, pushing back Tsewang Norboo (Ladakh) 25:33.235s and Arman Duay (Karnataka) 25:37.035s.

Pune-lass Siddhi was streets ahead of her rivals in the Sub Junior Girls; Individual Time Trial, winning the 10 km (2 lap) run in 29 minutes 50.394s. Siddhi’s effort was a good five minutes ahead of Karnataka Karen Marshall (Karnataka) 35:29.607s and Nagasiri H.N. (Karnataka) 37:47.955.

Last year’s champions Karnataka had a one-two in the Junior Men; Individual Time Trial (20 km; 4 lap) event with Charithgowda topping 59 minutes 08.661s followed by Smaran Subbaiah A.K. (Karnataka) 1 hour 03 minute 28.686s. West Bengal’s Sudhanshu Limbu 1:04:17.655s took bronze.

There was good news for Maharashtra who were lucky to add another gold to their kitty.

The Youth Girls; Individual Time Trial event had winner Gayatri Kittur (Karnataka) disqualified on a technical count as highlighted by the organisers.

As a result, Akansha Mehtre who finished second with a 29:52.997s effort was awarded gold and Shravani Parit (Maharashtra) won silver and Avani Dariyal (Uttrakhand) the bronze.

Maharashtra thus have 3 gold medals to their credit.


Elite Men: Cross Country Olympic (30 Km. (6 Laps)

1-Khariksing Adonis Tangpu (Manipur) 1 hour 12 minute 44.910s; 2-Riyant Rai (West Bengal) 1:14:03.035s; 3-Sonam Norboo (Ladakh) 1:14:28.200s; 4-Ashish Sherpa (Himachal Pradesh) 1:14:56.507s; 5-Khundrakpam Ronel Singh (Manipur) 1:16:43.935s; 6-Naman (Himachal Pradesh) 1:18:19.525s

Junior Men: Individual Time Trial (20 km; 4 laps)

1-Charithgowda (Karnataka) 59 minutes 08.661s; 2-Smaran Subbaiah A.K. (Karnataka) 1 hour 03 minute 28.686s; 3-Sudhanshu Limbu (West Bengal) 1:04:17.655s; 4-Mack Doland Nongkhlaw (CFI- Meghalaya) 1:04:50.220s; 5-Madhav Dutta (Chandigarh) 1:05:12.769s; 6-Omil Mize (Arunachal Pradesh) 1:05:26.786s

Sub Junior Girls: Individual Time Trial (10 km; 2 laps)

1-Siddhi Shirke (Maharashtra) 29 minutes 50.394s; 2-Karen Marshall (Karnataka) 35:29.607s; 3-Nagasiri H.N. (Karnataka) 37:47.955; 4-Nita (Gujarat) 39:15.321s; 5-A. R. Sruthi Devi (Tamil Nadu) 42:35.181s; 6-Sameeha Dcunha (Maharashtra) 44:47.110s

Youth Boys: Cross Country Olympic (10 Km. (2 Laps)

1-Siddhesh Ghorpade (Maharashtra) 25 minutes 09.917s; 2-Tsewang Norboo (Ladakh) 25:33.235s; 3-Arman Duay (Karnataka) 25:37.035s; 4-Birappa Navali (Chandigarh); 26:06.524s; 5-Savion Sabu (Karnataka) 26:31.340s; 6-Yogesh Sonavan (Maharashtra) 26:58.974s

Youth Girls: Individual Time Trial (Revised)

1-Akansha Mehtre (Maharashtra) 29:52.997s; 2-Shravani Parit (Maharashtra) 30:03.167s; 3-Avani Dariyal (Uttrakhand) 33:01.591; 4-Rutu Bhamare (Maharashtra) 33:11.526s; 5-Chaya Nagashetti (Karnataka) 36:36.830s.

1-Gayatri Kittur (Karnataka) 25 minutes 03.279s was disqualified.

Avatar photo


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: