The Manipur Film Journalists and Critics Association (MFJCA) will introduce the Manipur Film Journalists and Critics Association Award to be given to the Best Manipuri Feature Film annually.

The award will carry a cash prize with a memento.

The decision has been taken during a meeting chaired by MFJCA president Manindra Konsam in Imphal.

In the meeting, Manindra Konsam expressed his happiness on the growth of Manipuri cinema in the production sector in 2019.

As per a report of the Central Board of Film Certification, 12 Manipuri feature films were produced last year.

These films are ‘Ningthiba Nonglik’ produced by Gurumayum Krishnakumar, ‘Eikhoishibu Kanano’ by Yumnam Brojen Singh, ‘Nongphadok Lalqa Atithi’ by DDK Guwahati, ‘Pandam Amada’ by Konsam Saroja, ‘Korounganba-3’ by Chandam Yaima Devi and ‘Mr Mangal’ by Longjam Sanamacha Devi.

The other films are ‘Ei Actor Natte’ by Rodika Mutum, ‘Eerei’ by Sorenshangbam Herojit Singh, ‘Chaphu’ by Rk Bikramjit Singh, ‘Chanu IPS-2’ by Khuraijam Linthoingambi Chanu, ‘Eigi Kona’ by Konjengbam Sushila Leima and ‘Education Da Mai Onsillase’ by Rojendrakar Nongthomba.

The meeting also decided to honour 3 filmmakers namely Oinam Goutam, Ajit Yumnam and Maibam Amarjit whose films namely ‘Pandam Amada’, ‘Eikhoysibu Kanao’ and ‘Highways of Life’ (documentary) respectively participated in many international film festivals and brought laurels to Manipur.

The meeting, held on Tuesday, also decided to organise a series of webinars, master classes and group discussions on Manipuri cinema to accelerate the growth of Manipuri film industry and promotion of good film culture in the state.

The meeting later decided to extend all possible help and wisdom to the film producers, film exhibitors, film distributors, filmmakers and technicians for the overall growth of Manipuri cinema which will celebrate its Golden Jubilee from April 9, 2021.

Avatar photo


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: