File image of Manipur deputy chief minister Yumnam Joykumar Singh

Manipur’s deputy chief minister Yumnam Joykumar Singh has been reallocated the portfolios he held earlier.

The portfolios are Finance, Science & technology, Economics and statistics departments.

The state Chief Secretary Dr J Suresh Babu issued a notification (dated July 5, 2020) of reallocation of the portfolios, sources in Imphal said.

Also read: Manipur deputy CM Joykumar Singh stripped of portfolios

As per the notification, chief minister N Biren Singh will hold the charge of Home, Personnel, Planning, GAD, Vigilance, Transport, Minor irrigation, Tourism, Minority affairs OBC & SC, Information Technology, Municipal Administration, Housing & Urban Development (MAHUD), Horticulture & Soil Conservation and any other departments not allocated specifically.

The new development comes about 11 days after four National People’s Party (NPP) MLAs including Yumnam Joykumar who had briefly withdrawn support to the chief minister led BJP led coalition government, agreed to continue their support to the government.

The other NPP MLAs are L Jayentakumar, N Kayisii and Letpao Haokip.

Biren Singh led Government was in trouble after nine MLAs, including the four NPP ministers and three BJP MLAs withdrew support to it on June 17 last.

Avatar photo


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: