National People’s Party (NPP) party president Conrad K Sangma has appointed N Kayisii as the interim president of the Manipur state unit of the NPP.

Manipur tribal affairs, hill areas development and fisheries minister Kayisii has been given the new responsibility to ensure the smooth conduct of the internal elections of NPP’s Manipur state unit.

NPP national president Conrad K Sangma, who is also the chief minister of Meghalaya, issued an order on Monday in this regard.

In the order, NPP national president Sangma said: “In exercise of powers conferred on me as President of the National People’s Party under Article 35 of the Constitution of the National People’s Party, I am pleased to appoint Shri N. Kayisii as Interim President, National People’s Party, Manipur State Unit.”

The order said N. Kayisii shall exercise the powers of the state president in accordance with the constitution of the National People’s Party.

Manipur NPP

Sangma also said in the order that Kayisii will ensure the smooth conduct of internal elections of the National People’s Party, Manipur state unit in consultation with the central election authority within a time-bound manner.

NPP has four MLAs in Manipur.

The NPP legislators, who withdrew support to the BJP-led coalition government in Manipur, decided to be part of the N Biren Singh-led government after the intervention of party president, Conrad Sangma.

The four NPP MLAs include Yumnam Joykumar Singh, who represents Uripok constituency, N. Kayisii from Tadubi (ST) constituency, Letpao Haokip from Chandel (ST) constituency and Jayantakumar Singh from Keishamthong Langpoklakpam.

Yumnam Joykumar Singh is the deputy chief minister, Jayantakumar Singh is the health minister, and Haokip is water resources & sports minister.

Avatar photo


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: