The Election Commission of India (ECI) will announce the schedule for Assembly elections to Goa, Punjab, Manipur, Uttarakhand and Uttar Pradesh at 3.30 pm today, reports said.

The ECI on Tuesday held a meeting to discuss the Assembly elections due in five States amid rising COVID-19 cases across the country.

Several activists and leaders have sought postponement of the assembly election in the five states due to a surge in Covid cases including the Omicron variant in the country.

However, the poll panel earlier announced that all the political parties were in favour of not delaying the polls.

Avatar photo


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: