Manipur on Saturday witnessed over 40 per cent polling till 12 pm in the Manipur bypolls amidst the ongoing Covid-19 pandemic.

Polling is underway at four assembly constituencies in Thoubal, Imphal West and Senapati districts of the state.

A total of 1, 33,136 voters will cast their votes in 203 polling stations to decide the fate of 11 candidates in these four assembly constituencies.

Polling began from 7 am amid tight security and existing Covid-19 protocols. So far, the situation in all the four constituencies has remained peaceful.

Notable among the candidates is the state agriculture minister Oinam Lukhoi Singh of the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party(BJP) from Wangoi assembly constituency in Imphal West. Lukhoi is facing a triangular fight with Salam Joy Singh of the Indian National Congress (INC) and Khuraijam Loken Singh of the National People’s Party.

In Wangjing-Tentha constituency, three other candidates, Moirangthem Hemanta Singh of INC, Paonam Brojen Singh of BJP and S Manaobi, an independent candidate are contesting.

Former agriculture minister, Md Abdul Nasir is contesting as an independent candidate in the Lilong assembly constituency in Thoubal district. Two other rival candidates are Md Azizul Haque Khan of INC and an independent candidate, Y Antas Khan.

In Saitu constituency, BJP candidate Ngamthang Haokip is facing a straight with INC candidate Lamtinthang Haokip.

Two candidates from Lilong constituency and one from Singhat constituency had withdrawn their nomination papers leaving the Singhat assembly seat for BJP candidate, Ginsuanhau was later elected unopposed in October.

It may be noted that by-elections in the state were necessitated after their respective sitting MLAs resigned from the Manipur Legislative Assembly in August 2020.

Avatar photo


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: