Nomination rejected
Representative photo: Image - iPleaders Blog

With the completion of scrutiny of the nomination papers of all the candidates for both inner and outer Manipur parliamentary constituencies, nomination papers of all the 19 candidates including eight in outer Manipur seat (ST reserved) and 11 in inner Manipur seat were found to be valid for the upcoming 17th Lok Sabha elections.

Manipur will go to first and second phase polls on April 11 and 18 next respectively.

On Wednesday, the nomination papers of all 11 candidates for the second phase (inner Manipur parliamentary constituency) of the 17th Lok Sabha elections in Manipur are found to be valid during scrutiny at Imphal West district, according to official sources.

The candidates are Dr R K Ranjan of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), O Nabakishore of Indian National Congress (INC), Dr M Nara of Communist Party India, G Tonsana of Manipur Democratic People’s Front, S Nandeshore of Rashtriya Janhit Sangarsh Party, R K Anand of North East India Development Party (NEIDP), O Jugindro of Manipur People’s Party, R K Somorendro alias Kaiku, M Tomtomsana, W Pobitro Singh, Md Iliyash Khan, all Independent.

The last date of withdrawal of nomination papers for the second phase election is March 29.

On Tuesday, all the nomination papers filed by eight candidates for outer Manipur parliamentary constituency (ST reserved) were also found to be valid for the first phase elections on April 11.

The candidates for outer constituency are H Shokhopao alias Benjamin Mate of BJP, K James of INC, Thangminlien Kipgen of National People’s Party, Ashang Kashar of NEIDP, Dr Lorho S Pfoze of Naga People’s Front, Hangkhanpau of Janata Dal (U), Angam K Kom of Nationalist Congress Party and Independent Laikham Kaipu.

The last date of withdrawal of nomination papers for the first phase election is March 28.

According to the election affidavit submitted by the respective candidates, four out of the eight candidates in the outer parliamentary constituency are crorepatis. Locals said Congress candidate K James could be one of the richest candidates among all the candidates in the outer Manipur parliamentary constituency considering his existing assets.

Sobhapati Samom

Sobhapati Samom is Northeast Now Correspondent in Imphal. He can be reached at:

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.