The Himalayas Image Credit:

The researchers of IIT Guwahati, IIT Mandi and IISc Bangalore have developed a climate change vulnerability map for the twelve states of Indian Himalayan Region (IHR) and the results of the same were presented in a workshop on Thursday.

The national workshop ‘Climate Change Vulnerability Assessment for States and the Union Territories Using a Common Framework’  was organized by IIT Guwahati  and IIT Mandi with support from IISc Bangalore, the Department of Science and Technology and Swiss Agency for Development and Corporation.

The exercise is unique because for the first time all the twelve states of the IHR have used a common framework resulting in the production of comparable state level and within state, district-level vulnerability maps.

These comparative vulnerability assessments are useful for officials, implementers, decision makers, funding agencies and development experts to have a common understanding on vulnerability.

The map will help in understanding the cause of vulnerabilities of the twelve states of IHR and also help in finding ways to address these vulnerabilities.

“Based on the common methodology, we came up with a state level vulnerability assessment for the IHR and organised training workshops for the state level officials to carry out district level assessments in all 12 IHR states,” the investigators of the project said.

The investigators also hoped that that the assessment will help in tackling the issues of climate change of the twelve IHR states.

The twelve states of IHR are Assam, Arunachal Pradesh, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Sikkim, Tripura, West Bengal, Himachal Pradesh, Uttarkhand  and Jammu & Kashmir.

Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at:

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.