The two-day celebration of the 26th Foundation Day of the All Bathou Mahasabha came to an end at Chandamari Bodofa Cultural Complex in Kokrajhar on Wednesday.

On the conclusion day, Bathou prayers were held in the early morning. At around 10 am, a cultural rally was flagged off by Bodoland Territorial Council (BTC) Deputy Chief Kampa Borgoyary.

The cultural rally, which started from the Bodofa Cultural Complex moved through the Kokrajhar town Science College Road, Santinagar, DC Office and the JD Road.

Talking to reporters, Kampa Borgoyary said, “Bathou religion followers had been demanding that the day on Bathou Puja be declared by the BTC and Assam government as a holiday like the Christians Chritmas, Muslims’ Eid, Sankardev Tithi or Kishna Janmastami. Respecting their demand, recently, both the BTC and Assam governments considered to declare Bathou San as a government holiday. We have declared Bathou San as a holiday like other holidays.”

A view of the cultural rally. Northeast Now

He said that a large number of Bathou religion followers thronged in the venue from West Bengal, Nepal, Nagaland, Arunachal Pradesh and other parts of Assam to be part of the celebration of the 26th Foundation Day of the All Bathou Mahasabha.

Borgoyary also urged the the Bathou religion followers to come out with new thoughts in the future for reformation of the society.

Munthu Boro, President of the All Bathou Religion Afad Committee, said, “The 26th Foundation Day of All Bathou Mahasabha began on Tuesday with a seminar and on Wednesday, the Bathou morning prayers were held with participation of thousands of followers of Bathou religion. After that at 10 am, a cultural rally was organized where participation of BTC Deputy Chief Kampa Borgoyary, who formally inaugurated it.

Later, BTC Chief Hagrama Mohilary attended the open session of the programme as the Chief Guest.

Rinoy Basumatary

Rinoy Basumatary is Northeast Now Correspondent in Kokrajhar. He can be reached at:

One reply on “Foundation Day celebration of All Bathou Mahasabha concludes at Assam’s Kokrajhar”

Comments are closed.