The North Eastern Council (NEC) has sanctioned Rs 11.25 crore for three states in the region to fight the COVID-19 outbreak effectively.

The three states include Assam (Rs 5 crore), Arunachal Pradesh (Rs 3.25 crore) and Meghalaya (Rs 3 crore).

On March 27 DoNER minister Jitendra Singh had held a detailed review meeting through video conferencing, which was participated by officers of the Ministry of DoNER and North Eastern Council (NEC).

The meeting among others deliberated in length the outbreak of COVID-19 pandemic and measures being taken to meet the challenges arising out of it in the North Eastern Region.

The meeting decided that the DoNER/NEC will provide support of Rs 25 crores to the North Eastern States in support of their efforts to fight the outbreak.

The DoNER minister had also shared that concerted efforts are already happening and all efforts will be made to ensure that the northeast is supported in this hour of need, particularly related to medical needs and essential commodities.


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: