Representative image

The sitting parliamentarian of Shillong Lok Sabha constituency, Vincent Pala of the Indian National Congress (INC) might not have a smooth ride in the ensuing parliamentary election.

The Shillong Lok Sabha constituency is set to witness a triangular contest among Congress’s Pala, Sanbor Shullai of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Meghalaya Democratic Alliance (MDA) consensus candidate Dr Jemino Mawthoh.

Also read: Meghalaya: BJP takes U-turn in Tura; fields candidate for Lok Sabha election

Vincent Pala was first elected to the Parliament in 2009 on a INC ticket for the 15th Lok Sabha ftom the prestigious Shillong Lok Sabha constituency.

Pala held on to his seat in the 2014 and was re-elected to the 16th Lok Sabha.

BJP’s Sanbor Shullai is the sitting South Shillong legislator, while Dr Jemino Mawthoh is a former legislator of the United Democratic Party (UDP).

Also read: CAB a dead issue now; asserts Shillong BJP candidate for Lok Sabha polls

Dr Jemino Mawthoh has been fielded as the common candidate of the MDA that constitutes People’s Democratic Front (PDF), Hill State People’s Democratic Party (HSPDP) and Nationalist Congress Party (NCP).

Notably, state chief minister Conrad Sangma’s National People’s Party (NPP) has not fielded its candidate in the Shillong Lok Sabha seat.

shillong ls map
Image courtesy:

Presently, the Shillong Lok Sabha constituency comprises 36 Legislative Assembly constituencies: Nartiang, Jowai, Raliang, Mowkaiaw, Sutnga-Saipung, Khliehriat, Amlarem, Mawhati, Nongpoh, Jirang, Umsning, Umroi, Mawryngkneng, Pynthorumkhrah, Mawlai, East Shillong, North Shillong, West Shillong, South Shillong, Mylliem, Nongthymmai, Nongkrem, Sohiong, Mawphlang, Mawsynram, Shella, Pynursla, Sohra, Mawkynrew, Mairang, Mawthadraishan, Nongstoin, Rambrai Jyrngam, Mawshynrut, Ranikor and Mawkyrwat.

The Shillong Lok Sabha constituency is primarily a Congress bastion over last three dacades years.

Paty Ripple Kyndiah of the Congress won from the constituency three consecutive times, in 198, 1999 and 2004 before Voncent Pala took over in 2009.

Earlier, Peter G Marbaniang of the INC had won from the prestigious seat in 1989 and 1991.

Hoping Stone Lyngdoh, an Independent was the first parliamentarian from the Shillong Lok Sabha constituency in 1977.

Under Shillong parliamentary seat, there are 11,82,725 voters, with first time voters comprising around four per cent.

Asif Ibrahim

Asif Ibrahim is Chief Copy Editor of Northeast Now. He can be reached at:

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.