O Ibobi Singh
Manipur CLP leader and former CM O Ibobi Singh flanked by Congress candidates Nabakishore and K. James briefing media in Imphal on Sunday. Image - Northeast Now

The Congress candidates, who have been nominated to contest the upcoming 17th Lok Sabha polls scheduled to be held in Manipur on April 11 and 18, from Inner and Outer Manipur parliamentary constituencies, were handed over the official letters of their candidature on Sunday.

The Congress candidates, who are new faces, are Oinam Nabakishore, a former State chief secretary and K. James, a government finance officer-turned-entrepreneur.

Also read: Congress chooses Nabakishore for Inner, James for Outer Manipur LS seat

Manipur Pradesh Congress Committee (MPCC) president Gaikhangam and leader of the Manipur Congress Legislature Party and former Manipur chief minister O Ibobi Singh handed over the official letters of the party prior to a press conference at the Congress Bhavan in Imphal on Sunday afternoon.

Speaking on the occasion, CLP leader O Ibobi reaffirmed the statement of All Indian Congress Committee  (AICC) president Rahul Gandhi during his March 20 visit to the State that special status category of Manipur and Northeast industrial policy will be revived apart from providing jobs for youths if the party comes to power after the Lok Saabha polls.

MPCC president Gaikhangam said the Congress party is broadly focusing on development and other key issues which are being faced by the people of Manipur.

Both Congress candidates Nabakishore (for Inner Manipur parliamentary seat) and James (for Outer Manipur parliamentary seat) were selected out of 16 intending candidates including sitting MP Dr Thokchom Meinya, who applied for party tickets.

Other sitting MP Thangso Baite, who represents Outer Manipur seat (ST reserved) in Parliament, did not apply for the party ticket this time.

Regarding the party’s failure to field sitting MP Dr Meinya for Inner seat this time, the CLP leader clarified that the the central leaders of the AICC would try to give ‘some assignment’ to him once the party comes to power.

He added Thangso Baite, who did not apply for party ticket, informed that he wants to join the political affairs of the State.

The names of two Manipur Congress candidates were officially released along with 36 others across the country by AICC general secretary Mukul Wasnik on Saturday night.

The Congress candidates are expected to file their nomination papers on Monday.

Sobhapati Samom

Sobhapati Samom is Northeast Now Correspondent in Imphal. He can be reached at: ssamom@gmail.com

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.