Amchang wildlife sanctuary
Assam Social Welfare Minister Pramila Rani Brahma. (File image)

In a significant political development, the Bodoland People’s Front (BPF) has decided to field Assam social welfare minister Pramila Rani Brahma in Kokrajhar Lok Sabha constituency in the forthcoming general elections.

Kokrajhar is the lone constituency in Bodoland Territorial Area Districts (BTAD) which is currently being represented by independent Naba Sarania.

BTC chief Hagrama Mohilary formally made the announcement in a meeting at Barama in Baksa district on Tuesday.

“We have decided to field Pramila Rani Brahma from Kokrajhar seat to ensure our victory in the lone Lok Sabha seat of BTAD,” Mohilary said.

In 2014 Lok Sabha polls BPF candidate Chandan Brahma came third securing a  total of 2,43,759 (19.92%) votes in the constituency, which is reserved for ST .

Rebel turned politician Sarania, who won the seat, secured a total of 6, 34,428 (51.84%) votes.

Sarania was backed by two influential no-Bodo organisations—Aboro Suraksha Samiti and Sanmilita Janagosthiya Aikya Mancha—in the 2014 polls resulting in the thumping victory of Sarania.

However, post election results differences cropped up between Sarania and the two organisations and they are unlikely to back Sarania this time.

The United People’s Party Liberal (UPPL), another key player in BTAD, is likely to field Urkao Gwra Brahma from the constituency. Brahma secured second position in the 2014 Lok Sabha polls and got a total of  2,78,649 votes (22.77%) .

Kokrajhar along with three other constituencies— Dhubri, Barpeta and Gauhati–will go to polls in the third phase on April 23.

Avatar photo


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at:

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.