“We accept the mandate of people,” said Assam Congress president Bhupen Borah after the drubbing of the party in the by-elections to five Assembly seats in the state. 

“We have accepted the results as the mandate of the people and accept it gracefully without any contradiction while congratulating the victorious candidates,” Bhupen Borah said. 

The BJP and its ally the UPPL have registered an emphatic win in the Assam by-elections. The BJP and its allies have won all the five seats that went to by-elections in Assam. 

The Assam Congress drew a blank in the by-elections in the state. 

Also read: It’s a clean sweep for BJP & allies in Assam by-elections 2021, win all five seats

By-polls were held in five Assembly constituencies in Assam – Gossaigaon, Bhabanipur, Tamulpur, Mariani and Thowra. 

“…the BJP is now at the helm of power and this government will continue for another four and half years. That is why the people had voted for the BJP in the bye-election,” Assam Congress leader Manjit Mahanta said in a statement on Tuesday. 

Assam Congress chief Bhupen Bora further said: “Naturally, as a political party, we would have been delighted to win the election but we are not dejected simple because we lost. The general public thinks that being on the side of the ruling party would lead to the development of their area and this is only natural.” 


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: contact@nenow.in