The Assam Cabinet on Wednesday took several key decisions during a meeting chaired by chief minister Himanta Biswa Sarma.

As the situation along the border with Mizoram continues to remain tense, the Assam Cabinet on Wednesday decided to constitute a Police Commission for three months.

Sharing the decisions, Assam chief minister Sarma in a tweet informed that the Police Commission will be headed by former additional chief secretary Himangshu Sekhar Das and former DGP PV Sumant.

The Commission will recommend measures for improvement of policing system, activities and deployment, chief minister Sarma informed.

“In our today’s Cabinet meeting, we took several decisions keeping the best interests of our State in mind,” Assam CM Sarma tweeted.

“Some major decisions include constituting panel to suggest administrative & police reforms, Govt jobs to Olympics, Asian, Commonwealth Games medal winners, etc.” he added.

The Assam Cabinet decided to start the process of filling up 15,000 vacancies in the police department from September 15, 2021.

The State Cabinet also decided to raise five new Assam Police battalions and 6,270 youth will be recruited.

The Assam Cabinet has also decided to form the Information, Public Relations, Printing & Stationery department by merging the Printing & Stationery department and Information & Public Relations department.

The Cabinet also decided to merge the Public Enterprises department with the Industries & Commerce department.

The State Cabinet decided to merge the Passport department with the Home department.

The Cabinet decided to hike the monthly sports pension from Rs 8,000 to Rs 10,000.

All National & Commonwealth Games medal winners to receive sports pension.

The Assam Cabinet announced Grade-I government jobs for Asian, Commonwealth & Olympics Games medal winners, Grade-II government jobs for recognised World Championship medal winners and Grade-III government jobs for National Games medal winners.

The Cabinet decided that the chairmen, deputy chairmen and chief executive members (CEMs) of newly-constituted autonomous councils will receive perks on a par with counterparts of existing autonomous councils.

Dr PLN Raju, retired director of North Eastern Space Applications Centre (NESAC), will be appointed as special secretary-cum-director of the Regional Space Application Centre.

The Cabinet decided to waive the land premium due from Sankardev Nethralaya.

Avatar photo


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: