Five persons accused of four separate cases of sexual assault on minor girls in Golaghat district were sentenced to imprisonment by a Protection of Children from Sexual Offences Act (POCSO) court.

Lakhindra Sareng and Sukram Majhi were sentenced to 20 years of imprisonment along with a fine as they were convicted of sexually assaulting a minor girl in the year 2019.

Also Read: Elephants destroy several houses in Assam’s Tamulpur

Along with them, Sukura Karmakar was sentenced to seven years of imprisonment for sexual abuse on a four-year-old girl.

Apart from these, Two other accused identified as Aminul Sikdar and Anil Bora were sentenced to prison for two separate incidents.

Also Read: Bhabesh Kalita claims five more MLAs will join Assam BJP

Aminul was convicted of sexual assault on a 13-year-old girl while Anil was convicted of sexual assault on a five-year-old girl.

Avatar photo


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: