Representative image

The All India Congress Committee (AICC) has released a list of star campaigners for the Assam Assembly by-polls to be held on October 30, 2021.

“The following leaders of Indian National Congress, who would be campaigning as per Section 77(1) of Representation of People Act 1951, for all the bye-elections to the Legislative Assembly of Assam to be held on 30th of October, 2021,” said AICC general secretary KC Venugopal said in its intimation letter to the Election Commission of India.

The list of star campaigners includes Jitendra Singh, Vikas Upadhyay, Prithviraj Sathe, Bhupen Kumar Borah, Ripun Bora, Pradyut Bordoloi, Gaurav Gogoi, Debabrata Saikia, Abdul Khaleque, Rakibul Hussain, Basanta Das, Rana Goswami, Siddique Ahmed and Kamalakshya Dey Purksyastha.

Also read: Assam Assembly by-polls: Congress announces candidates for 3 seats

The other star campaigners are Durga Bhumij, Jakir Hussain Sikdar, Manoj Dhanowar, Paban Singh Ghatowar, Garjan Mushahary and Bisti Basumatary.

The last date of nominations was October 8, 2021 and the date for scrutiny of nominations is October 11, 2021.

The Election Commission of India has fixed October 13 as the last date for withdrawal of candidatures.

The polling will be held on October 30, 2021 (Saturday).

In Assam, by-polls will be held in 5 Assembly constituencies including Mariani, Bhabanipur, Thowra, Tamulpur and Gossaigaon.

Congress has fielded Jowel Tudu for Gossaigaon, Bhaskar Dahal for Tamulpur, Manoranjan Konwar for Thowra, Luhit Konwar for Mariani and Sailendra Nath Das for the Bhabanipur Assembly seat.

The counting of votes will be held on November 2, 2021 (Tuesday).

In the Northeast, the by-polls will be held in Assam, Mizoram, Meghalaya and Nagaland on October 30, 2021.

The other states, where the by-polls will be held include Bihar, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Rajasthan, Telangana and West Bengal.


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: