Representative photo. Image credit - DNA India

The counting of votes for 5 Assembly seats in Assam, 1 seat in Mizoram, 3 seats in Meghalaya, which went to bypolls on October 30, began at 8 am on Tuesday.

The counting of votes is underway in Assam’s 5 Assembly seats including Mariani, Bhabanipur, Thowra, Gossaigaon and Tamulpur, in Meghalaya‘s Mawryngkneng, Mawphlang and Rajabala Assembly seats and in Mizoram’s Tuirial Assembly seat.

Apart from the Northeast states, by-elections were also held in the states of Madhya Pradesh, Himachal Pradesh, Andhra Pradesh, Bihar, Haryana, Karnataka, Maharashtra, Rajasthan, Telangana, West Bengal and UT of Dadra & Nagar Havelli and Daman & Diu.

Also read: Mizoram Assembly bypolls: Over 83 per cent voter turnout recorded at Serchhip

In Nagaland, NDPP candidate Keoshu Yimchunger for the bypolls to Shamator-Chessore Assembly constituency was elected to the Nagaland Assembly uncontested.

Assam recorded an overall 73.38% voter turnout on October 30 as the 5 Assembly constituencies went to bypolls.

The Bhabanipur Assembly constituency recorded the highest voter turnout at 78%%  while Tamulpur constituency in Assam recorded the lowest voter turnout at 67.88%.

Also read: Assam Assembly bypolls: Overall 73.38% voter turnout recorded

Meanwhile, the Election Commission of India (ECI) has written to the chief electoral officers (CEO) of the states and union territories (UTs), where by-elections were held, directing it to ensure that no victory procession is being taken out after counting of votes.

“No victory procession after the counting shall be permissible,” the ECI in its letter to the CEOs stated.

Also read: Meghalaya police nabs Nigerian man, Naga woman from Delhi in cyber fraud case

Moreover, the EC stated that “not more than two persons shall be allowed to accompany the winning candidate or his/her authorized representative receives the certificate of election from the Returning Officer concerned”.

This order was issued by the Election Commission of India on Monday.


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: contact@nenow.in