Early trends from counting centres for the BTC election show a neck and neck fight between ruling BPF and newly floated UPPL, led by Promod Boro.

According to trends at 10.00 a.m., the UPPL was leading on 17 seats while Hagrama Mahilary-led ruling BPF was ahead in ten seats.

The BJP, which has not tied up with its Assembly polls ally BPF, is leading on two seats.

Opposition Congress and Kokrajhar MP Naba Kumar Sarania-led Gana Suraksha Party (GSP) are trailing in all 40 seats.

The counting of votes began this morning at 8 am on 10 counting centres across four BTR districts—Kokrajhar, Chirang, Baksa and Udalguri.

There a total of 40 seats in BTC and the halfway mark to form the council is 21.


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: contact@nenow.in