The BPF, led by former BTC chief Hagrama Mahilary, won 6 seats and was leading in 12 seats on Saturday as per the latest status of the election results of the 40-member Bodoland Territorial Council (BTC).

The United People’s Party Liberal (UPPL), led by Pramod Boro and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) won 1 seat each.

While the UPPL was leading in 9 seats, the BJP was leading in 8 seats.

Opposition Congress was leading in 1 seat and Kokrajhar Lok Sabha MP Naba Kumar Sarania-led Gana Suraksha Party (GSP) was leading in 1 seat.

According to reports, former deputy chief BTC, Kampa Borgoyary has been defeated in Chirang-Duar constituency by former NDFB leader and UPPL’s Ranjit Basumatary (BR Ferenga).

BPF president and former BTC chief Mahilary, who was earlier trailing behind in both Debargaon and Kachugaon seats, is leading now in both the seats.

Hagrama is leading in Debargaon seat by more than 400 votes while he is leading by over 170 votes in Kachugaon.

Former deputy chief BTC, Kampa Borgoyary has been defeated by former NDFB leader and UPPL candidate Ranjit Basumatary (BR Ferenga) in Chirang-Duar constituency with a huge margin.

Pramod Boro is leading by more than 4,000 votest in Goibari in Baksa district. However, he was trailing in Koklabari by over 5,000.

Former NDFB leader, Gobinda Basumatary of the UPPL is leading in Bhairabkunda seat.

James Basumatary of BPF in Nichima seat won with a margin of 2,781 votes.

Dhananjay Basumatary of BPF in Manas Serfang constituency won with a margin of 1,240.

The counting of votes began at 8 am on Saturday in 10 counting centres across four BTR districts — Kokrajhar, Chirang, Baksa and Udalguri.

There a total of 40 seats in BTC and the seats required to form the council is 21.

Rinoy Basumatary

Rinoy Basumatary is Northeast Now Correspondent in Kokrajhar. He can be reached at: