Assam Assembly Elections
Image for representation

The BJP on Sunday released its third list of candidates contesting the upcoming Assam Assembly elections.

BJP national general secretary Arun Singh released the third list at a press conference at the BJP headquarter in New Delhi on Sunday.

The saffron party released the names of candidates in 17 legislative assembly constituencies in Assam, retaining most of the sitting MLAs.

While the BJP central leadership decided the names of candidates for 13 constituencies, the state leadership took the decision on the candidature in four constituencies.

As per the list, sitting MLA Atul Bora will be contesting from the Dispur constituency, Siddhartha Bhattacharya from East Guwahati constituency, Suman Haripriya from Hajo, Narayan Deka from Barkhetriy constituency and Chandra Mohan Patowary from Dharmapur constituency.

Also read: Assam Assembly election: BJP manages to keep Hojai MLA Shiladitya Dev within party fold

The other candidates include Ashadul Islam in South Salmara constituency, Debamoy Sanyal in Dhubri, Aswini Roy Sarkar in Golakganj, Abu Bakkar Siddique in Bilasipara West, Ashok Singhi in Bilasipara East and Ajay Kumar Roy in Bijni.

The list also named Shyamjity Rabha as the candidate in Dudhnai, Osman gani in Jaleswar, Sankar Chandra Das in Sarbhog, Shahidul Islam in Jania, Hasinara Khatun in Baghbarand Hemang Thakuria in Palasbari.

The BJP had denied tickets to 11 sitting MLAs including sitting Hojai MLA Shiladitya Dev that has led to a sense of revolt within the party.

Dev had threatened to quit the party and contest the Assam Assembly elections as an independent candidate after being denied a ticked.

However, Assam health minister Himanta Biswa Sarma together with BJP national general secretary Dilip Saikia rushed to Hojai on Saturday to convince Dev not to contest the elections as an independent.

They promised to give added responsibility to the MLA within the party.

Kalpajyoti Saikia

Kalpajyoti Saikia is Senior Reporter of Northeast Now. He can be reached at: