BJP flags Tripura
Representative image

The BJP on Sunday announced its candidates for the upcoming assembly by-elections in Assam.

The contesting candidates are Bijay Malakar from Ratabari, Towfiqur Rahman from Jania, Rajen Borthakur from Rangapara and Nabanita Handique from Sonari.

The party’s Central Election Committee (CEC) cleared the names for the four BJP workers.

The bypolls to the four Assembly seats in Assam will be held on October 21.

Except Borthakur, all the three nominees—Malakar, Rahman and Handique –are new faces of the party.

Borthakur, who was an MLA from Tezpur constituency, resigned from Congress in 2015 and joined BJP.

By-election was necessitated as Tapan Gogoi (Sonari), Pallab Lochan Das (Rangapara), and Kripanath Mallah (Ratabari) of BJP respectively won in the 2019 Lok Savbha polls.

Jania MLA Abdul Kalaque won the Lok Sabha polls from Barpeta and vacated the seat.

While Gogoi was power minister, Das was labour minister. 

Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at:

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.