The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has announced Biswajit Daimary as its candidate for the bye-elections to one of the Rajya Sabha seats from Assam.

Elections to the Rajya Sabha seat was necessitated following resignation of Biswajit Daimary as a member of the Upper House in November.

Biswajit Daimary had earlier been a three-time Rajya Sabha member since 2008, representing Hagrama Mohilary-led Bodo People’s Front (BPF).

Biswajit Daimary had resigned from the Rajya Sabha soon after his re-election in 2020 after rift between the BJP and BPF widened.

Later, Biswajit Daimary joined the saffron brigade in November.

Biswajit Daimary’s name as candidate was announced by the Central Election Committee of the BJP on Monday.

Also read: Unabated felling of exotic Simalu trees continues in Assam’s reserve forests

Earlier last week, the Election Commission of India (ECI) had announced that bye-election for the Rajya Sabha seat (Council of states) from Assam for the constituency vacated by Biswajit Daimary, will be held on March 1.

“The Chief Secretary of Assam is being directed to depute a senior officer from the state to ensure that the extant instructions regarding COVID-19 containment measure are complied with while making arrangements for the conducting the elections,” the ECI said.

Further, the Assam Chief Electoral Officer has been appointed by the ECI as the observer for this bye-elections.

Notably, the last date for the filing of nominations is February 18 and the last date for withdrawal of nominations is February 22.

Assam has seven Rajya Sabha seats.

Also read: BJP to form government in Nepal, Sri Lanka, says Tripura CM Biplab Kumar Deb

Avatar photo


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: