Chandrayaan 2. Image credit - Indian Express

India’s second moon mission Chandrayaan-2 has successfully entered the moon’s orbit on Tuesday.

The duration of Lunar Orbit Insertion (LOI) maneuver was 1738 seconds beginning from 0902 hrs IST. The orbit achieved is 114 km x 18072 km.

Also read: Assamese bond in successful launch of Chandrayaan-2

Informing about this remarkable success of Chandrayaan-2 mission, ISRO stated on its official Twitter handle:

‘Today (August 20, 2019) after the Lunar Orbit Insertion (LOI), #Chandrayaan2 is now in Lunar orbit. Lander Vikram will soft land on Moon on September 7, 2019.”

As per a notification released by ISRO, all the systems of Chandrayaan 2 are working successfully.

The health of the spacecraft is being continuously monitored from the Mission Operations Complex (MOX) at ISRO Telemetry, Tracking and Command Network (ISTRAC) in Bengaluru

The monitoring operations are being done with support from Indian Deep Space Network (IDSN) antennas at Bylalu in Karnataka.

India created a history on July 22 with the successful launch of Chandrayaan 2.

The Rs 978-crore Moon mission was launched from the second launch-pad at the Satish Dhawan Space Centre, Sriharikota, in Andhra Pradesh.

Among those responsible for Chandrayaan-2 successful launch, role of three scientists from Assam — J N Goswami, Dipak Kumar Das and Hidam Rajeev Singh, are worth mentioning.

Astrophysicist J N Goswami is the chairman of the advisory board for Chandrayaan-2 mission.

Dipak Kumar Das is director of ISRO’s Space Applications Centre.

Hridam Rajeev Singh was a member of the team which produced the Stage I Solid Stage Rocket Boosters for Chandrayaan 2.

Avatar photo


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at:

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.