Kokrajhar police arrested five persons accused of allegedly raping a minor girl at Jitpur village under Bishmuri police outpost in Kokrajhar district.

All the accused have been sent to the Kokrajhar jail.

The accused were arrested on Thursday.

They have been identified as Krishna Murmu(25), Baburam Murmu(19), Lakhan Murmu(26), Sakhal Hasda(21) and Supal Hembrom(30).

Interacting with the media, Binanda Basumatary, officer-in-charge of the Kokrajhar sadar police station said the incident took place during the Vijaya Dashami celebration of Durga Puja on the night of October 26.

An FIR bearing case number 637/2020 was filed under section 376(DA) of the Indian Penal Code and section 6 of POCSO Act.

Avatar photo


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: contact@nenow.in