Phanidhar Talukdar has tendered his resignation as MLA from Bhabanipur constituency in Assam.

Talukdar submitted his resignation as MLA to Assam Assembly speaker Biswajit Daimary on Wednesday morning.

Phanidhar Talukdar stepped down as an MLA just a day after quitting the AIUDF.

The former AIUDF MLA is all set to join the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) later on Wednesday.

Talukdar also met top Assam BJP leaders, including chief minister Himanta Biswa Sarma, on Wednesday morning.

Also read: AIDS cases in Assam dropped by 8 percent in two years: Reports

“I welcome him (Phanidhar Talukdar) to our Pariwar,” Assam CM Himanta Biswa Sarma said.

Talukdar is the third legislator after Rupjyoti Kurmi and Sushanta Borgohain resigned from their respective parties to join hands with the saffron party.

Phanidhar Talukdar is a first-time MLA from the AIUDF, who won the recently held Assembly elections in Assam from Bhabanipur constituency.

As an AIUDF candidate, he got 55,975 votes against ruling ally Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) candidate Ranjit Deka’s tally of 52,748 votes, becoming the only Hindu MLA from the party that predominantly has a Muslim base.

After Talukdar’s resignation, the AIUDF’s strength in the 126-member House will come down to 15.

Also read: Assam flood situation worsens: Death toll mounts to three, 5.74 lakh people affected

At present, the BJP has 60 MLAs, but effectively the number is 59, as Union minister Sarbananda Sonowal is yet to resign from the assembly.

The ruling alliance partners, the AGP has nine and UPPL five MLAs, while the Congress’ strength is 27.

By-elections will now take place in six seats – one MLA each of the United People’s Party Liberal (UPPL) and Bodoland People’s Front (BPF) have died, while two Congress legislators have resigned to join the BJP.

Avatar photo


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: